New Excel Forum

This forum has been moved to TeachExcel.com

Ask all future questions in the New Excel Forum.

ExcelKey

Average last 3 non-blank cells in columns...

Formulas, Functions, Formatting, Charts, Data Analysis, etc.

Average last 3 non-blank cells in columns...

Postby marantsmi » Tue Dec 13, 2011 12:07 am

I have spent hours researching and cannot find my answer. I am a bit new to using functions like index, row, column, large, etc., so I'm having a hard time understanding the formulas I am finding. Please help.

Here's what I have.

Row 4 gives the total "Actual Usage" per month starting at D4 and continuing to infinity, but there are 4-5 blank cells in between every total (each month consists of 4-5 columns to show the weekly break down in row 6).

Row 5 gives the total "Actual Sold" per month with the same situation as row 4, having 4-5 blank cells in between totals.

I want row 7 to reveal the running combined average of the last 3 non-blank cells (monthly totals) for both row 4 and row 5. In other words, the 4 cells in row 6 for the month of December ought to give the combined average of the actual usage and actual sold for September, October and November. Once I enter December's totals at the end of December, I would want January's row 6 to auto-calculate the combined average for Oct-Dec, and so on.

I tried to give a clean example; see attached.
EXAMPLE.xlsx
EXAMPLE.xlsx
EXAMPLE.xlsx

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
marantsmi
Rookie

Re: Average last 3 non-blank cells in columns...

Postby Sisyphus » Tue Dec 13, 2011 3:11 am

Hi,

You have a number of problems to solve. Let's do them one at a time.

1. You are working with two units, month and week. This is causing problems. Note that weekly totals can't be coerced into monthly totals. You would need daily totals in order to have monthly sums. So, I think you may find it easy to forget about months and work with weeks.